‘Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose’

Translated to “the more things change,  the more they stay the same”.

image

Often times I hear this in passing, on the radio or even within my own thoughts. It’s a phrase we so often hear but have we stopped to ask why it is so? Today I reflect.

I was scouring the Internet this this morning, reading blogs for inspiration when I ran across this blog Three paragraphs in this caught my eye…

The reality is that by about 25, your future can be fairly well predicted by your life at that point. Perhaps not the details, but the general character. The thing is, people don’t change much past that age. Of course, things can happen to alter your course. You could land a great job, get laid off, develop an addiction or come into an inheritance. However, you can usually take a look at what someone is doing at around 25 or so and predict what they will be doing in ten years. Chances are, it won’t be too different.

Pardon my french, but fuck that! If I were to stand out side my window and look in knowing I would see the same thing in ten years….you can just picture me beating on the window, screaming so loud no noise comes out.

Ultimately I’m telling myself to wake up! So often we heard growing up that anything is possible if we just believe. That’s bull shit. Anything is possible through hard work, perseverance, blood, sweat and tears.

I have a handful of lifes “bumps in the road” that hinder me from living the life I dreamed of. A diagnosis of fibromyalgia, nerve damage in my back, a pending diagnosis of multiple sclerosis or maybe even lupus, being about 50 lbs overweight, myositis and chronic fatigue. All of these things lead me to where I am now.

I lost the career I’d always dreamed about and haven’t worked in almost 10 months. I am bored, overweight and in a terrible amount of pain every day. I do not want to be doing this same old song and dance in 10 years.

I refuse to sit back and let life pass me by

On Monday I started something amazing and wrote this

Feeling extremely accomplished right now…. in my quest to make my daughter’s summer awesome I just did something that is a huge deal. …We completed the tumwater falls loop in 45 minutes. Up and down all those hills and bridges along with over 100 stairs (Kara counted them with me). I used my cane and we stopped a few times but I did it! I may be down for the count for several days but it was so worth it!
image

Where will you be in 10 years?

image

One thought on “ ‘Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose’

  1. Pingback: And the Nominees Are… | Veronika Lazabal, Word Nerd

Leave a Reply

